The crowd goes Wild… Lee chosen as Player of the Year

October 24, 2021

Selby Cricket Club held its annual dinner and presentation night last Friday (October 15) at Selby Bowling Club, where members and guests looked back on a successful season on and off the pitch and got a chance to thank all the captains, umpires, scorers and hard-working people behind the scenes.

The first team had a good season in Ebor Division Two and finished in third place, but just missed out on promotion. Skipper Matthew Hoyle scored 914 runs at an average of 57.13, which included seven 50s and two centuries. Lee Wild scored 498 runs at an average of 38.31 with four 50s. Darrell Guy supported with 268 runs, and Mark Hope hit two 50s in accumulating 201 runs. The winner of the batting award with 432 runs at an average of 61.71, with two 50s and one century was Alex Bowden. Lee Wild marked an impressive all-round season with 41 wickets at an average of 12.59, which included three five-wicket hauls, and that also earned him the Rickaby Trophy as Player of the Season. Luke Berzins opened the bowling admirably throughout the season taking 28 wickets at an average of 24.86 and was supported by the experienced Jamie Middleton, who took 26 wickets at an average of 17.15. James Dugher continues to grow in senior cricket and contributed 12 wickets.

The winner of the first team bowling award with 43 wickets, the highest in Division Two, at an average of 11.44 with three five-wicket hauls and a season-best of 6-19 was Alex Langhan. Wicketkeeper Darrell Guy had another excellent season with 34 victims behind the stumps, the highest in Division Two Ebor. The second team finished in seventh place in a competitive Division Four Ebor with plenty of good performances. Chris Harkin enjoyed a successful season with two 50s in his 274 runs at an average of 30.44. Opening the batting, Oliver Steward contributed 253 runs at 21.08, and Gareth Harvey scored 223 runs at 24.78. The winner of the second team batting award was skipper Graham Phillips with 648 runs at an average of 43.20 with three 50s and a century.

In the bowling department, Mark Redshaw impressed with the ball, taking 29 wickets at 21.14. Nathan Dye chipped in with 12 wickets and Mike Lane with 11 wickets. The winner of the bowling award was Graham Phillips, who took 20 wickets at an average of exactly 20. The second team player of the season award went to Gareth Harvey with 223 runs and nine victims behind the stumps. The third team finished fifth in Division Three of the York Vale League and fulfilled all their fixtures, with several of the clubs successful under 13 teams playing their first games of senior cricket. Youngster Jack Huddlestone scored 139 runs at 19.86, but the winner of the third team batting trophy was skipper Richard Mustill, who scored 220 runs at an average of 18.33 with the highest score of 84 at Bolton Percy. Youngsters Rhys Roddick, Joe Bugg, Sam Dickinson, Harry Huddlestone and Jack Mustill all bowled well, and Caspar Gray had a fine first season in senior cricket with 17 wickets at 16.59. The winner of the bowling award with 26 wickets at 12.08, which also earned him the Vale League Division Three award, was Dan McLoughlin. The third team player of the season went to youngster Caspar Gray, who has shown great promise, with a season-best 4-22 at Heslington.

The best junior in senior cricket award went to Kayden Lane, who made contributions in the first and second-team and is a real prospect for the future, and he got a maiden five wicket haul for the first team at Church Fenton. The most improved senior player award went to Chris Harkin, who got his whites back on a few seasons ago after a long absence and played most weeks contributing nearly 300 runs in the second team and his performances were rewarded with appearances in the first team in the latter stages of the season. President Stephen Ward presented long service awards to Barbara Gouldsbrough and Hazel Rickaby, and Neil Romaniw was presented with an Outstanding Service to the Club award. The Presidents Club Achievement award went to Matthew Hoyle, who had another great season on the field, and he is now chairman of the cricket club while contributing to the planning and growth of the club and is involved in the junior coaching squad.

The Club Person of the Year award went to Dan Mcloughlin, who has worked hard on and off the pitch during the season, and he has been an important part of an outstanding junior season in which the talented under 13 team won the league and cup double. There was a special award for Chelle Thirsk, who has worked tirelessly behind the scenes for the last five years to help put the club in the healthy situation it finds itself.

Lee Wild holds the Player of the Year Rickaby trophy after he’s presented with it. (21-10-47 SU)   

Share this article